Grace & Truth Co-Op

Classical Christian Education

What Is The Trivium?

The Trivium is the foundation of a Classical Education and comprises three time-tested phases of learning.

The Three Stages of The Trivium

These three stages of learning interact, each one with the other, and complements the way that God created children to learn. Without knowledge there can be no understanding or wisdom. Knowledge and understanding are likewise necessary if there is to be wisdom.

  • Phase 1 – the Grammar Stage teaches young children knowledge
  • Phase 2 – the Logic Stage teaches teens understanding and
  • Phase 3 – the Rhetoric Stage teaches young adults wisdom.

To learn more, visit the Veritas Press website via the links below: